Ready for Heaven But Not Fit

Ready for Heaven but Not Fit

By David Smith September 23, 2009

 

Ready for heaven?  Salvation is clear;

Christ paid the price on the Cross; have no fear.

 

By no means fit; a humble man as I;

My righteousness alone;

As filthy rags; the evangelist did cry.

 

Ready, but not fit;

Though the Work of the Cross, alone; salvation is the hit.

 

My body has an age. My mind is immature.

My heart is deceitful; and yet a desire to be pure.

 

The body slowly dying; the mind to dwell on God;

And a heart for Christ; temptation, that I rob.

 

To be ready for heaven, and not to be fit.

Held back by sin and corruption; to decay as I sit.

 

Through His work alone; I can’t possibly pay the price.

By His saving grace, faith will suffice.

One thought on “Ready for Heaven But Not Fit

Leave a Reply

