Coin a Phrase

Coin a Phrase

By David Smith December 5, 2010

(Inspired by Sunday School Lesson)

Text
Matthew 1:21  And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins.
John 10:11 I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep.”
Psalm 23
Isa 1:18 Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: Though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow: though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.
1 John 7: But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.
John 10:27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: and I give unto them eternal life: and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. I and my Father are one.

Tokens were awarded to get the kids to take part;

To coin a phrase, the bible verses got the start;

Things people like to do at Christmas time

Got things rolling, children in their prime;

Drinking eggnog, decorate and eat

Turkey was a great big feast;

And the candy cane, five points came about

To remind us of Christmas, to let God’s Word out.

Shape, a Jay. The Name of Jesus we hear.

Importance of a name to hold so dear;

Staff and Shepherd – looks after the sheep.

He gives his life, and search without sleep.

Colour of Candy canes – Predominately white

Though sins be like scarlet, they shall be like snow and bright

Red is the colour of the blood that was shed

That is the cleansing, our sinful nature we dread.

The texture is hard where eternity can endure

No man is able to pluck the saved out for sure.

That is the lesson in verse and in rhyme

Pick up God’s Word and invest a little time.

Leave a Reply

